Life cannons rocks at us

I’ve been thinking a lot about life lately.  How it can seem easy or be ridiculously hard.   Lately it’s hard for a lot of us.  Without employment we are scared about money and getting a job.  For those with a job they are working twice as hard while making less and being paranoid about layoffs and cutbacks.  No one’s life is easy right now – not even Bill Gates.

I sometimes feel that we are on a field, similar to dodgeball while life cannons rocks at us.  We live, or at least I do, with a fear in the back of my mind as to when the next rock will land and what it will be.  Death of a loved one?  Alan losing his job as well?  The economy getting worse?  I mean, what’s waiting for me around the corner?  What’s waiting for those I love?

I know all of us seem to be taking more rocks to the solar plexus lately than we used to be.  It’s like the field shrunk and the rocks got bigger.

For everyone out there, for myself included, we must think to the future.  To the promises of good times – of those rocks being small and bouncing off.  To seeing our children grow, to Christmases and Thanksgivings of laughter and love.  To the economy being great and the idea of peace in the World that I still cling to with my whole soul.

I know things are rough right now – rougher than rough.  But I think that as long as we keep helping each other up after those rocks slam into us – we’ll get through.  Because no matter what, we still have each other.

P.S.  There is a family I adore who feels like a second family to me.  They all got hit by a huge, giant, boulder recently.  They are on my thoughts and in my prayers daily and to them I want to say I’m here to help them up best I can and hug them until the pain dulls to an ache.  I love you all.

~ by alie0bronwynn on April 25, 2009.

One Response to “Life cannons rocks at us”

  1. Thanks, babe. 🙂 Those boulders hurt but the way I look at it is the larger the support system, the smaller those boulders seem. And our support system is HUGE thanks to wonderful family and friends who stand tall for us.

Leave a comment